How To Remove Location Information From Your Images With Lightroom

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestLinkedIn I recently...

Read more

Publishing To Flickr From Lightroom

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestLinkedIn I recently...

Read more

Creating And Using Watermarks in Adobe Lightroom

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestLinkedIn I recently...

Read more

There are 4 comments

  • Alex Ramos says:

    Thanks for the article. I found this after the damage had already been done… I moved 7,000 images from my laptop to my desktop and lost all the pickflags and Virtual Copies. Is there a way to move these after-the-fact? I still have the original intact catalog on the laptop, but I now I’ve done a bunch of edits on the desktop which I don’t want to lose either.

    • dave says:

      Hi, Alex. Yikes.

      If it turns out to be an either-or situation, you may need to decide whether it’s more important to bring across the old pickflags and virtual copies or whether you want to keep the new edits.

      Before you do any of this, make sure you have recent backups from both computers, just in case…

      You might be able to bring your old catalog over and then fix the paths on the desktop to point to the new location of the images. That should bring back your virtual copies and such. If you have updated XMP on the desktop, synchronizing the metadata in your catalog might read in the updated XMP, giving you your old catalog and copies and such overlayed on to your new changes made that are stored in the XMP.

      Give that a try first and let me know how it turns out. You should be able to bring over your old catalog to give it a try, just make sure you turn off the “Auto update XMP” so that you don’t overwrite your new XMP with the data from the old catalog.

      Otherwise, you may need to lose either the copies or the new changes to get everything consolidated.

  • Stephen says:

    Thanks for the info. I’m just learning about the virtual copies and I’m disappointed that a second XMP file is not created. Please give me your feedback on this workaround: Let’s say you rename the first xmp file as imagename-color.xmp, remove the raw file from your catalog, then re-import it. Then work on another copy and rename the xmp file as imagename-bw.xmp. With some minor filename editing you’d be able to bring back whichever version you wanted. Does that sound right? The only drawback is you wouldn’t be able to view them side by side in LR. Your thoughts?

    • dave says:

      Hi, Stephen. It depends on what you’re trying to do. If you want to maintain two physically different copies of the same image with distinct XMP, you could just make a copy of the raw file and treat them as two separate images. If you want to keep all your edits from a virtual copy when you move them to another drive, say to archive, you can export in to an archive catalog. You could also “cheat” and keep the info as different snapshots on the same image. So you have your original and the VC. The original you process color and the VC black and white. You should be able to snapshot the final color image, then copy and paste the develop settings from the black and white VC on to the original image and snapshot that, then you might have both “versions” accessible through a snapshot. Let me know which path you take!